Gateway Labrador is a beautiful log structure situated at 1365 Route 500, Nichols-Adam Highway, Labrador City in scenic Western Labrador. It officially opened its doors to visitors on June 28, 2003. Gateway Labrador is home to Labrador Rose Boutique, Labrador West Visitor Information Center and the Edmund Montague Exhibit Hall.
Our museum, The Edmund Montague Exhibit Hall, which has on display many artifacts representing Labrador West and the entire Labrador region - its history, culture and people. As well, the hall showcases the fur trading and mining history of Labrador.
Montague Hall traces 3500 years of human habitation in Labrador West but more importantly it helps to debunk the popular misconception that Labrador West’s history is comprised only of mining. The exhibit traces the arrival of the first indigenous peoples, the arrival of the French fur traders at Ashuanipi in 1695, the establishment of the Hudson Bay site of Fort Nascopie in 1838, and on to the mega-projects of rail, hydro, and mining.
Photos are also on display which depict the history of Labrador City, Happy Valley - Goose Bay and the interior of Labrador.
As the western gateway to Labrador, accessible by road, air and rail, Gateway provides a much needed venue for tourists to discover the bold history of Western Labrador, or Lab West as it is called by the local residents and the greater region of Labrador. The Labrador Rose offers boutique shopping for both residents and non-residents alike. The boutique has on hand various souvenirs of the region and well as local crafts, artwork and carvings.
Editor's Note: More photos of our beautiful building and displays available in our Photo Gallery.
Home Page Photo Credits: Brad Dillon Photography
Site Background Image Credits: Larry Jenkins Photography